logo_AEuCC_no_subtitleAEuCC (Agrupación Europea de Cooperación Territorial Ciudades de la Cerámica / European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation Cities of Ceramics) is a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation created in 2014 that groups together the Associations of Cities of Ceramics in Europe, based in Italy (AiCC), France (AfCC), Spain (AeCC) and Romania (ArCC).

Each association represents municipalities with “ancient ceramic tradition” (Italy, 46 cities; France, 10 cities; Spain, 29 cities; Romania, 12 cities). In total, the area of the AEuCC EGTC includes 97 European cities.

In recent years, AEuCC has promoted the creation of new Associations of Cities of Ceramics in different countries, allowing the birth of the German Association (AgCC), Polish (AplCC), Czech (AczCC) and Portuguese (AptCC) and 3 of them (German, Czech and Portuguese) are currently in the process of joining the AEuCC, with a formal adhesion scheduled from 1 January 2020.

In some other countries, the EGTC has discussions in progress for the creation of further assocoations (Croatia, Austria, Switzerland, Hungary, Latvia, Slovenia, Turkey).

The mission of AEuCC is to develop territorial and transnational cooperation in the field of ceramic art and craft, mainly to create social and economic cohesion, by developing projects and services for the ceramic sector stakeholders.

AEuCC is open to new members, which need to be “associations of cities of ceramics” (at least three cities from the same country). In order to enlarge the EGTC, the cities willing to create a new association are granted “observer status” and are allowed to participate in the AEuCC works.

AEuCC is a rare example of an institutionalised interregional cooperation (rather than cross-border or transnational). It is deeply involved in a specific sector (artistic and craft ceramics), in which it is highly specialised and has network relations. Its characteristics permit a strong achievement of cohesion results (mainly in jobs and growth) and to reach out a large number of stakeholders.

AEuCC is seen as a good example of how EGTCs could be developed and be effective for a wider area (interregional – EU level) in a very specialised sector. Given the interregional approach of the EGTC, it could play an important role in European Territorial Cooperation: AEuCC could enlarge theoretically to 27 or more members.

Download the brochure of AEuCC

(available in English, French, German, Italian, Romanian and Spanish)

Read all AEuCC NEWS



05/11/2020 | Posted in News

ancient-2179091_1280AiCC, in cooperation with AEuCC, has presented in the recent months several projects to be financed by European programs, which are currently being evaluated:

Cerasmus-2-Innovation: it is the continuation of the recently concluded CERASMUS+ project; presented in Italy on the Erasmus program – VET axis (Vocational Educational and Training or professional and continuous training), aims to deepen the issues already started with the first project (to analyze the skills needs of the sector with reference to the improvement of the “value chain”, to enhance the urban environment and the start-up of businesses, to combine the tradition of ceramics with innovative design and production techniques, to review and innovate professional training in the ceramics sector through work-based learning models in order to strengthen the value of the sector at the cultural, social and economic level).
The project sees as coordinator AEuCC and as partner the Grue Institute of Castelli and other educational institutions of Manises (Spain), Leiria and Caldas da Rainha (Portugal), Letovice and Kunstat (Czech Republic) and Forssa (Finland) in addition to TUCEP of Perugia as a technical consultant partner on Erasmus.

Test. – Teaching hiStory of Ceramics: presented in Spain on the Erasmus program – VET axis (Vocational Educational and Training or professional and continuing training) is a project conceived by an Italian-Polish working group (composed of Viola Emaldi, curator of AiCC projects and IFTS director on ceramics of Faenza, Elisa Emiliani specialist AiCC and AEuCC European projects, Piotr Kielan Rector of the Academy of Wroclaw and Alicjia Patanowska, ceramics referent of that Academy and coordinated by Giuseppe Olmeti of AiCC) which aims to create and disseminate, with different methods and on different platforms (short lectures or conferences, monographic courses, extended programs, multi-day courses to be held in classroom and online) the “history of ceramics” of the individual nations of the partners participating in the project and define a teaching program crossed by such courses by the Institutes of other nations.
The project sees as coordinator AiCC and as partner the Associations of the Cities of Ceramics of Spain (AeCC) and France (AfCC) and school institutions of Wroclaw (Poland), Leiria and Caldas da Rainha (Portugal) and Letovice and Kunstat (Czech Republic ) as well as AEuCC as a communication partner and TUCEP of Perugia as a technical consultant partner on Erasmus.

CERAZENS – Ceramic sector meets Citizens: presented on the Citizens program: democratic engagement and civic participation – Network of Cities axis is a project resulting from the existence of the European network of Ceramic Cities permanently spread in 7 countries and from the opportunity that collaboration and trust between Associations and between individual cities can promote and implement a fruitful collaboration in terms of analysis and understanding of needs, opportunities and actions, to provide support to the existing world crisis by raising awareness and implementing actions of democratic commitment and civic participation.
The project sees as coordinating subject AEuCC and as partner the Associations of the Cities of Ceramics of Italy (AiCC), Spain (AeCC), France (AfCC), Romania (ArCC), Rep. Cheka (AczCC), Portugal (AptCVC) and Germany (AgCC).

Image source: pixabay

The fifth meeting of CLAY – Interreg Europe project

06/10/2020 | Posted in News

120044692_688776671731158_1589651374462258657_oSeptember 23, 2020 – The 5th meeting of the CLAY project (Cross Sector support for Innovative and Competitive Artistic Ceramic SMEs), funded by the Interreg program of the European Union, which aims to support the small and medium-sized enterprises in the ceramic sector by acting on regional policies, was held on Wednesday 23 September 2020.

On the CLAY official website is published the news, which includes four videos, showing the peculiarities of Horezu ceramics: LINK